Illus Interview

Where are you from?

 Earth. I think…Haha. I’m originally from Connecticut.

 When did you first fall in love with Hip-Hop?

The moment I saw it and heard it. I was probably 5-6 when I started really becoming aware of what was going on around me. I was actually exposed to grafitti and break dancing before I was exposed to any one particular rap artist. I didn’t know who the rappers were, I just knew I liked the way the breaks and beats sounded combined with the dance movements and the two-dimensional visuals on the walls in and around my neighborhood. When I finally listened and heard The Message by Melly Mel and Grandmaster Flash, I was hooked. The more I listened to the words the more captivated I became. I started listening to The Treacherous Three and hand me down tapes with the Cold Crush Brothers on them and soon after started my own little record collection, scooping up everything that came out from Kurtis Blow to the Fat Boys, Run DMC and more.

 Who are your influences?

 Everyone. I’m influenced by everything I see in the world around me. I’m a huge fan of music and art and I can go on and on about my love for others but I know we don’t have the time for that. A short quick answer- Dr. Martin Luther King Jr, Ghandi, Krs One, Chuck D, Kool Moe Dee, Run Dmc, Brother Ali, Slug, Norman Rockwell, Jack Kirby, Stan Lee, Al Williamson, John Romita Jr., Harvey Kurtzman, Richard Pryor, Bugs Bunny, Carlos Pacheco, Frank Frazetta, John Walsh…and so many others. Like I said I can go on and on.

 When did you discover you had a talent for rapping?

 I’ve been writing stories and poetry since I was very little. Eventually my love for writing and my love for HipHop led me to combine the two and try my hand at writing rhymes of my own, mimicking my favorite artists like Kool Moe Dee, Run DMC and KRS. I’d say I was around the age of 12-13 when I started composing actual songs and feeling confident enough to rock them in front of others. Many years ago. Haha.

Does being white affect how people perceive you as an MC?

 I am sure it affects some people but I am not really aware of it because I do not allow myself to focus on that. That would be a better question for the fans or “haters” I guess. I roll with artists like Public Enemy, and they don’t have any problem with me being white as far as I know, and that is all that matters to me. Lol. I’d like to think people judge me based on my skills and what I bring to the table and not on my skin color.

 Do you think that reverse discrimination still exists in Hip-Hop?

 There will always be people who dislike you for one reason or another. Whether it’s color, gender, religion, regional drama or language. But HIPHOP is international and universal now so there is an audience for everyone. I’ve gotten love from all kinds of people across the spectrum so I don’t pay attention to anyone that may not like me for whatever reason.

 How did you get involved with Public Enemy and come up with a comic book idea?

 I was a huge P.E. fan growing up and I always felt like they were real life super heroes and the perfect band to be turned into comic book characters. I worked at Marvel for a brief period and they had a music division and had been working on a P.E. comic themselves. The music department eventually collapsed and the project was scrapped. But I always thought if I had my chance I could do it right.

 Years later I met Chuck through his website and he licensed some of my songs for his record label Slam Jamz Records. I was working with a crew called the Impossebulls and we went on tour with Chuck and P.E., opening for them, Blackalicious and Dilated Peoples. Chuck and I got to talking more, he knew I was an independent comic book publisher and illustrator, and I told him about my ideas and he loved them and we went to work. With the help of Professor Griff and S1W James Bomb we put the series together and made it happen.

Who are you listening to right now?

At this very moment I am listening to my man Bumpy Knuckles spin a dope mix on his internet video show-Krupt Mob Radio- http://www.ustream.tv/channel/krupt-mob-radio Bumpy is an incredible deejay and is rocking a diverse collection of HipHop and R&B.

 As for records I am rocking…I still have the last Q Tip record- The Renaissance, in rotation, I love that record. I’m a big fan of up-and-coming artist GodAWFUL. He has a new album called Beats & Rhymes in The Key of AWFUL Vol. 1 and it’s really dope. Check him at- http://godawful.bandcamp.com/. I’m loving the new Rakaa album. I love HipHop and I am a huge music fan so I listen to a lot of artists from the classics to new artists. Krs One, De La Soul, Brother Ali, Gift of Gab, Eternia, Louis Logic, Masta Ace and EMC, Ludacris, Blu, Atmosphere, Toki Wright, Grouch, Beatmonstas, Mos Def…just a few of the people in rotation.

 Will you be working with other artists in upcoming projects?

 Definitely. Since Feel Good Music was virtually guest free I am really looking forward to collaborating with friends and peers to create something different. I love true creative collaborations where artists build and vibe off of each other, so I am hoping to get into the studio with some friends and make some great music. I usually don’t like to reveal who or what until it happens because sometimes things fall through though. I can reveal that I’m currently working on a song with my man, Freddie Foxxx, aka Bumpy Knuckles and it’s going to be a monster.

 Will you be working with J.J. Brown again?

 I have three new songs I am working on with J.J. I would love to do a follow up to Feel Good Music but he’s an incredibly busy person and we’ll just have to see how it goes. The new songs sound amazing though- J.J. is such a great producer and he really challenges me to bring my best when we work together.

 Future projects?

I am working on several new graphic novels that I hope to announce soon. I am also working on a few new album collaborations with various producers. I have a TV show I am developing. Throw in some random freelance projects for other artists and companies and I am staying pretty busy. Definitely stay tuned to my blob at www.adamwallenta.com for weekly updates.

 When is the best time of the day for working on comics?

 It depends on my creative cycle. I usually like to get right to work first thing in the morning when the sun is just coming up, but there are also times when I’m most creative late at night when everyone else has fallen asleep. Some days are 24/7 creativity and then there are those days when I need to get outside of the studio and be out doors soaking in some sunshine.

You can order Illus’ new limited edition digi-pack cd album Feel Good Music at his website http://www.americanmule.com/shop. It comes autographed with a FREE bonus cd and FREE shipping worldwide. You can also order it  ITUNES at http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/feel-good-music/id349574650 as well as AMAZON and all other digital distribution sites.

http://www.adamwallenta.com

One Response to “Illus Interview”

  1. Dope album from a great artist. Cant wait to hear more.

Leave a comment